Hillside Community Primary School

Together we can shine

In the EYFS, there are seven areas of learning and development:

Prime Areas

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

In designing our curriculum, we take guidance from Development Matters. Below you will find our EYFS curriculum overview.

Below you will find our Literacy and Maths overview.

Below you will find our skills planning document.

Below you will find our 'Ready to Write' progression document.

Phonics is taught discretely, every day in the EYFS. We follow Red Rose Letters and Sounds (Phase 2 - 5) with fidelity, starting with Phase 2 at the beginning of Reception.


Phase 1 is taught in our Nursery classes, focusing on the development of listening, speech and language skills.Below is a chart detailing the skills taught within Phase 1.

Below is some information to support early blending to read and segmenting to spell in Phases 2 and 3. 

Below is a chart detailing the graphemes (letters), phonemes (sounds), tricky and high frequency words taught in Phases 2 - 5.

For more information about Phonics at Hillside, please see the Phonics section of the website.